We are launching BALAS’ Newsletter!

We are very excited to announce the launching of a BALAS’ Newsletter, for the benefit of our BALAS community. In the early years BALAS had a newsletter that was distributed 3-4 times annually, via mail. We are retaking this effort and are eager to hear what you have to say (please, contact us at balas@balas.org).

This year’s conference, Facing deglobalization: Views from and for Latin America is an opportunity for us to celebrate and reflect on the first 40 years of BALAS. BALAS is the premier international association fully dedicated to promoting a better understanding of Latin American business. As expressed by Denisse Dimon, BALAS former President (2009): “Emerging out of the 1980s, when Latin American countries were just opening markets and political systems, BALAS began from a small group of academics, residing the United States, to an organization today with a diverse membership from countries across three continents. The traditional goal of networking and sharing ideas across disciplines has always remained. Out of BALAS many friendships and professional partnerships have been created and blossomed to help foster greater linkages and knowledge creation across countries”.

We thank Ricardo Buitrago, BALAS Conference Chair, for hosting and organizing the 40th Anniversary Conference.He wears two hats in BALAS, since he also chairs the Latin American Job Market (LAJM). We also thank the distinguished members of our BALAS Organizing Committee and, no less important, our BALAS Executive Committee, listed below. They are a group of volunteers that shine by themselves and bring a positive vibe to BALAS. A glance at the list will confirm that we are privileged to continue the BALAS tradition with diversity, knowledge creation, blossoming friendship, and a true scholar spirit. You probably know them all for their contribution of leadership in the academic world of the LATAM region and beyond:

Urbi Garay, President BALAS

Yvonne Huertas, Executive Director

John Rosso, Academic Chair

Camille Villafañe, Communications Chair

Jose Antonio Robles, Doctoral Consortium Chair

Dennis López, Treasurer

Regional Representatives:

Jose Ernesto Amoros, Mexico Rep

Lourdes Casanova, Europe Rep

Viviana Fernandez, Southern South America Rep

Niels Ketelhohn, Central America and the Caribbean Rep

Virginia Lasio, Northern South America Rep

Jannine Poletti, Rep at large

Christopher Robertson, US-Canada Rep

Richard Saito, Brazil Rep

5775 Wayzata Blvd, Suite 700, PMB #200-016 | St. Louis Park, MN 55416

2023 © Business Association for Latin American Studies. All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software