Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business (Lok Jack GSB) was established in 1989 as a joint venture between The University of the West Indies and the private sector of Trinidad and Tobago. Today, the school is recognized as the premier institution for the provision of business and management education, training and consultancy services in the region.
Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business

The association sponsors an award program designed to recognize and encourage outstanding scholarship and research in the area of Latin American business activities.

The Sion Raveed Award, in memory of Professor Sion Raveed, an early BALAS supporter and organizer, is granted to the outstanding professional paper presented at the annual BALAS Conference. In addition, the Thunderbird Award recognizes an outstanding paper which demonstrates managerial or public policy applications and is also awarded at each annual meeting. This award is sponsored by Thunderbird School of Global Management, Glendale, Arizona.

Beginning at the 2016 Conference, the best student paper award has been designated as the Luis Sanz Student Paper Award in honor of Dr. Sanz lifelong support of students and scholarship related to the business and economic environment of Latin America.

The USD and EGADE Best Teaching Case Award recognizes the best business case focusing on business in the America's. This award is jointly sponsored by the Ahlers Center for International Business at the University of San Diego and the Escuela de Graduados en Administración y Dirección de Empresas (EGADE), Tec de Monterrey.

The Award Recipients from the 2016 BALAS Conference
hosted by the ESPAE Graduate School of Management, ESPOL Guayaquil, Ecuador:

BALAS 2016 was an opportunity for sharing academic research of significant value. Congratulations to the authors whose papers were recognized as outstanding intellectual contributions. We recognize the following authors as the winners of BALAS awards:

Luis Sanz Best Student Paper Award:
"Property Structure of Stock Exchanges and Market Quality: A Study of the Bovespa Demutualisation."
Carlos Tadao Kawamoto, FEA/USP/Business Administration Department; James Terence Coulter Wright, FEA/USP/Business Administration Department

Sion Raveed Award:
"ESG Disclosure in Latin America: The Role of Board Structure."
Bryan W. Husted, EGADE Business School/Tecnológico de Monterrey; José Milton de Sousa-Filho, EGADE Business School/Tecnológico de Monterrey AND Universidade de Fortaleza

Thunderbird Award:
"Directors from Related Industries and Management Forecast Properties: An International Study."
Ervin Black, Price College of Business/University of Oklahoma/Steed School of Accounting; Herita Akamah, and Dipankar Ghosh

"Pacari: Premium organic chocolate from tree to bar."
Alexandra Velasco, Universidad San Francisco de Quito; Fabrizio Noboa, Universidad San Francisco de Quito

Click here for a listing of previous awardees





BALAS and all BALAS logos and related items Copyright © 2010 BALAS.  All rights reserved.